Thursday, July 9, 2009

Update and Etc

Yes, I went MIA, again. I really meant to update before today, but last week was kind of...busy.

I DID have the injections on Monday. I did NOT have the anesthesia. When the nurse came in to ask me if I had anything to eat or drink in the last 8 hours (I had not), I asked her about the medication they would give me, if I chose to have it. She said they would start an IV, and they would give me something that would not knock me out, but make me feel "woozy". She then said that "some people feel confused, and some forget they even had the procedure done". Yep, that sealed it. I wasn't getting the drugs.

I went ahead with the injections and it was actually better than the last time. There seemed to be less "digging around" than the last set. However, I was very sore and miserable for four or five days, just like before. I had hoped I would feel better sooner, as that Saturday was July 4. Not so lucky. In fact, I woke up in the middle of the night on Thursday/Friday with a sharp, screaming pain down my left side of my back and into my left leg. I tried to readjust my weight and position as carefully as I could and go back to sleep. When I woke up on Friday, I had a lot of pain in my left side of my back and down my left arm, as well as significant weakness. It took me three days and several muscle relaxers to get through it, but I did.

Needless to say, I didn't do much for the holiday weekend. Tyler was with his dad, so it was quiet, but Matt was home all weekend, which became its own issue. But we had a nice 4th. Matt made steaks and a baked potato for me, and right about the time dinner was ready, we started hearing fireworks out back. Turns out there were LARGE fireworks going on, and we had a perfect view from our balcony! It was great! And when we were finishing dinner, we could hear the grand finale going off downtown.

Matt was restless all weekend. He was bored and didn't know what to do with himself. So, instead of finding something to do, he just irritated me and remained in a bad mood all weekend. Good times. He's back at school this week, and he's working the All Star Game festivities this weekend, so he's excited about that.

Speaking of which, guess what? I WON TICKETS TO THE ALL STAR FANFEST! It's going to be awesome! Of course, I can't go; there's no way. WAY too much walking around and standing, but that's ok. It's really a boys thing, anyhow. So Matt and Tyler will go and I'm sure they'll have a great time. I've already told them to take lots of pics and videos, so watch for them here and on Facebook.

Other than that, not much going on. I've been spending a lot of time online, chatting with new friends (local, even!) and reading a lot of ebooks. I forgot how much I love to read. So far, I have been focused on guilty pleasure types like the Confessions of a Shopaholic series, but I think my next read is going to be The Other Boelyn Girl. I wanted to see the movie SO BAD when it came out, and never did. But the book is usually better than the movie, anyhow. At least, in my experience.

The other thing I have become a fan of is the True Blood series on HBO. I don't have HBO, but I have managed to catch up online. Other than the HORRIBLE accents (and the main character's name...Sookie *shudder*), it's very inventive and creative. I have been thinking a lot about a world where vampires try to coexist with humans, and I think the series makes some good points about racism and bigotry, so we'll see where it goes. I'd like to read the original series and see how much better/worse it is than the series. I have a sneaking suspicion there is a LOT more violence and sex in the series. I mean, it IS HBO.

That's it for today. I'll try to update sometime this weekend, and I'll definitely update with pics and videos from the All Star Weekend. Feel free to leave comments on books you love, True Blood, or any movies you feel are MUST SEE.

Today, I am thankful for distraction. If it wasn't for the internet and good noise-blocking earphones, I might have had to kill Matt this past weekend LOL.