*mad*
Internet went out. Completely, totally, all-or-nothing out. I was SO PISSED. I wondered what I would do all day and night without the internet. The answer: nothing. Absolutely nothing.
I tried to blog from my cell. That was a big, fat fail. I tried to blog from email from my phone (which explains the awkward partial post below). Also a tremendous fail. I gave up.
So, what's new? Not much. Still hurt, still home. My fmla leave from work ends on Monday, and I am no closer to having any answers about what's wrong with me or how to treat it than I was the first of March. It's incredibly frustrating to have constant pain and be so limited in what I can do and not have any answers.
I also am beginning to feel like I am losing advocates as far as doctors go. My doctor keeps sending me to surgeons to try to get answers, but they keep blowing me off because they don't see anything on my mri or xrays. My pain management doc had been really helpful and optimistic the last few times I visited, but this most recent visit, he seemed very disconnected. He prescribed me a medication that seems to be primarily for epileptics, so it seems like he is trying to block my nerve responses. He also has scheduled me for a nerve conduction study, whatever that is.
I have not started the medicine yet. This is the first time I have done this. I am concerned about the side effects, and moreso that he didn't really discuss the medicine with me before prescribing it. He just sort of said he was going to "try something" and then the nurse gave it to me when I was ready to go. She's the one who told me to call them if I had "a lot of side effects". Reading the packet insert and the cautions online really spooked me.
It's not that I wouldn't take it if it would help, but I guess I just need more conversation with the doctor first. This is one of those medications that you cannot just stop taking. You have to slowly build up your dosage, and if you need or want to stop taking it, you have to be "weaned" off of it. That's one of my fears with medication, and why I have tried very hard to avoid taking any hardcore narcotics for pain. So I will update as soon as I make a decision about this.
On to happier news: Tyler's last day of school is Tuesday, and he will then officially be a FIFTH grader. Can someone please explain to me when I got old enough to have a fifth grader? I don't feel 30, even though I am.
*pout*
He has been doing very well this year. I know he is excited to be in fifth grade. He is MORE excited to have summer vacation. It looks like we will be spending it together, at least in part.
Matt is doing very well in this phase of school, too. This is the baking phase, so we have been getting very spoiled with goodies and treats most nights. He has a paper due on Monday. An official college paper. As in four pages, double spaced, citations, etc. etc. He hasn't even started it yet!! He wants me to help him, and I will proofread, of course, but he's going to be bumming tomorrow night when he still has more than half of the work ahead of him! I have a feeling this will be one of those things that he will be doing right up until the class starts lol. Aren't most college papers that way? Ce la vie!
Ok so now that I am online again, I will think of something positive/optimistic to post tonight, and will be posting again daily. So happy to be back!!
xoxox
~Erica
What’s My Skin Age? Let’s find out..
8 years ago



