I actually just finished a bowl of warm, home made dutch apple pie and french vanilla ice cream. It was amazingly good! In years past, I have bought the dutch apple pie, but this year, I wanted to make it myself, and it's great. It's not quite as crunchy as the store bought one is, but the difference in the taste is worth it. And knowing I made it myself is even better. I really do love to bake. Sometimes I think I should have been a pastry chef. When the ex started culinary school, I was half tempted to go, too, and become a pastry chef. I mean, I love to cook anything, but for me, there is something very special and rewarding about baking pastries, cakes, pies, cookies, etc. I even thought, at one time, he and I could run a restaurant together. LOL. It's sad, though, because I think (if things had been different between us personally), we could have been VERY successful in business. He was smart in a lot of ways, and I know the restaurant business like the back of my hand. We're both hard workers, and we both love to cook. It could have been awesome. But, then we would have had to be together virtually 24/7, and we all see how well that worked out.
So I just bake for fun, and I love it. Tyler even really got into it this year. And he was the main cleaner upper, which was good. There is a lot I can do during baking that I can sit for, but cleaning up, you kind of have to be standing up for most of that. And my back just wasn't having it. In fact, I am in a lot of pain today. I guess it's all caught up to me. Everything we did this week, and then Christmas at my aunt's house last night. Sitting in a hard wood chair for most of the night, not getting home until late, etc. It all adds up. I actually had a dream last night that I was moving heavy furniture, which is funny. But I woke up feeling like I actually HAD been moving heavy furniture. Which was NOT funny. I haven't done much today, other than sit here, screw around online, crochet with my new Christmas yarn, and watch Tyler play the Wii and with his other new toys.
I promised pics last night, so here are some:
Christmas haul. Doesn't look like much, does it? The biggest thing I've learned: middle schoolers don't want a lot of gifts. They want EXPENSIVE gifts. Sheesh! I actually asked him, and he said he would rather only have a few expensive things than a lot of littler, cheaper crap. So that's what he got lol.
Stocking! Stuffed to the brim! ps: most of this is GONE already! And he's not sharing this year! Stingy!
New tennis shoes. This one, I wasn't able to surprise him with. I wasn't sure of his size (and good thing I checked, because he was an entire size bigger than I thought he would be! Damn growing kids!). Also, he thought he wanted one thing, until we got to the store, then he saw these and HAD to have them. So this was the pre-Christmas Christmas gift.
This was another gift from grandpa and Beth (he also got a Wii game and lightsaber attachments for his Wiimotes on Thursday). Oh, and these are his favorite jeans. I hate them. I won't let him wear them to school, so he wears them around the house. All the time. Including on Christmas morning. Yay.
Nerf gun. He has begged for this thing. Oh, and there's Little in the frame. He was very excited about the presents for some reason LOL.
Mario Galaxy. This was a last minute addition to the list. And, this is the game he has played the most! He loves it. It makes me motion sick.
Despicable Me. It was really funny when we saw it before, so I knew he'd like it, and he does. He didn't ask for this, but we watched it yesterday before we went to my aunt's. And he's tried to get me to watch it again today.
Star Wars something something about the Force, 2. This was the game he BEGGED for. And yet, he has hardly played it. He played it on a friend's xbox 360 and loved it, but he says it's "really different" on the Wii. I'm sure he'll play it, and beat it, by the end of the week. Watch.
Star Wars something about the Jedi Force Trainer. Can anyone guess how expensive this thing is?! Because I sure as Hell didn't know! I do now, though. But, it actually works. And he's been messing with it, so I guess it's worth it?
And his overstuffed stocking. He was very happy with his haul. For some reason, I felt like he should have more things to open, but he says he's really happy. He also got a watch and some Pokemon cards from Target on Thursday night. We stopped there after buying shoes because he decided that, since he now has black shoes, he needed black ankle socks. I asked him while we were there about a watch, because I think that's another thing you should pick out for yourself, instead of someone picking it out for you. So he got that, too. And of course, he conned me into getting him a $15 Pokemon set on the way to the register. So I guess he did get a lot of things, just not all on Christmas morning.And the dogs got Christmas presents, too:

They're called Busy Bones. And they were! They were very highly entertained for about 20 mins each. And then they wanted to sniff where each other had eaten the bones to see if either of them had left anything behind. I didn't get the cats anything, because the cats don't eat treats or play with toys :( Well, Pooh will eat tuna, but I didn't want to give her something that Waverly wouldn't eat, because it wouldn't feel fair. I know, I'm insane lol.Lastly, I was really happy with my makeup for last night, and I was *this* close to taking it off when I realized I hadn't taken any pics of it, so I thought I would. You might not care, but I love makeup. And I got constant compliments on it from my family, too. My hair was up in a ponytail, and those earrings were a Christmas gift. But I was already in my pajamas lol.


It was silver and purple, even the lipgloss was purple! Earrings were silver and purple, and my top was silver, purple, and black. Purple is my favorite color :)
All things considered, it was a really great Christmas. I was able to come through for Tyler the way I wanted to. He has told me several times this weekend how great of a Christmas it has been. We got to see our family and really enjoy our time with them. And now, we have a whole other week off before school starts back up. I know Tyler is excited to go back to school and show all his friends his loot and talk about the rest of what he got, and of course, find out what they all got, but he also said he's looking forward to spending this week with me. We have been so busy the last week cooking and baking that we haven't really had time to just relax, so this week will be it.
I will say, though, that the kitchen is FINALLY almost clean. I feel like we have been doing nothing but dishes and cleaning the stove and counters for days on end. Probably because we have been! But it's been worth it, and I know this is a Christmas we will both always remember well. I just hope the upcoming months will be as good for us as the last few have been. I think, as long as we keep doing the right things for the right reasons, and leave the negativity and craziness behind us, they will be. I just keep telling Tyler that we cannot let others and their determination and unhappiness cause us misery. Then, we become as bad as they are, and we have always been better than that. I'm glad he finally seems to see it, too!

No comments:
Post a Comment